Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Re-starting after storage (Help needed)

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

Glory Hunter
Nitrous Nuisance

PostPosted: 16:43 - 02 Apr 2004    Post subject: Re-starting after storage (Help needed) Reply with quote

Hi, I hope some of you more experienced bikers can help me out with this query:

Finally, two months after moving, I'll be going down to the smoke to get my bike back. During this time it has been stored outside but covered and as I'm new to biking I'm not really sure what checks to make before I get on and pootle off down the road again. The bike is a 53 reg Suzuki RV125 which has only done 1,200 miles. I'm a bit worried about the battery being flat but is there anything else I should be checking (obviously I'd be a bit miffed if it fell apart on me!). Is ther a risk that anything will have seized up in that time? Should I get it serviced before starting to ride it on a daily basis again?

Please be gentle with me, I don't do technical speak (at least not as far as bikes are concerned anyway Wink )

mr.z
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 16:56 - 02 Apr 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

It depends on how well prepared it was, if the fuel had been emptyed out then that would be good, chain will want throughly oiling battery will almost defenately need charging.. any throttle cables might be worth looking at and brake discs, they may well be rusted in which case get a mechanic to check them..

Thing with the petrol is it goes.. off, leave a tank of unleaded for a month and some bikes will go nowhere (or run badly), not only that it turns into gunk in the carbs, apparently spraying W40 into the air inlet can help get your bike started (high flash point) but never tryed it myself..