Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Trials or Motorcross

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Offroad & Supermoto
View previous topic : View next topic  

Newbie-Phil
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 18:28 - 31 Dec 2004    Post subject: Trials or Motorcross Reply with quote

Hi all,

Right Im looking at getting in to motorbikes firstly just as an off road pursuit so I dont have to get a bike licence etc.

I have no experience on motorbikes except I had a 80cc quad when I was younger, im now 22 and I enjoy mountain biking and I am pretty good at both trials on a mountain bike and general freeride stuff.

I am now toying with getting a motorbike and im not sure wether to go down the trials side of things or motorcross. I like the skill behind trials but also like going fast etc is it possible to do much jumping on a trials bike? I was considering for starters getting an xsport 110cc mini style motorcross bike cos these look fun!

Anyway if people can give me a bit of an insight I would be very grateful also im thinking if i get a big bike to get a 250cc be it mx or trials. What bikes are cheap and good what should I look out for etc.

Cheers!!!! Happy new year in a Very Happy bit

Gazdaman
I did a trackday!!!

PostPosted: 22:57 - 01 Jan 2005    Post subject: Reply with quote

It all depends what you want to do.

I used to do a lot of bicycle trials a few years back. I'd suggest you get a 125/200 cheap as you like field bike and start trials on that.

To start with trials is all about riding around trees at funny angles etc.

Motox on the other hand requires more mechanical expertise, a more expensive machine, and higher risks of dieing. IMO.

I rekon you'd be best off giving trials a bash. Phone your local trials club they'll be able to help you further.

Gaz
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website You must be logged in to rate posts

G
The Voice of Reason